Skip to Main Content

Library Website: Special Collections

About our Special Collections

The SMFA Library has several collections comprised of rare, unique, and/or valuable materials that enrich and expand our circulating and electronic collections. 

All of the following must be viewed inside the Library. Drop by or contact Darin Murphy (dmurphy@smfa.edu, 617-369-3651) to set up an appointment. 

Artists' Books

The SMFA Library has a growing collection of artists' books, made locally and around the world, that showcase a wide range of binding types and conceptual approaches to book-making. 

Accessing: The collection is accessible Monday - Friday, from 9 am to 5 pm. Please note that there may be a brief waiting period between your request and the retrieval of collection items. 

To find a specific title, search the FLO Catalog. Try adding the term "artists' books" to your search. 

Appointments: To learn more about the collection and explore it in-depth, make an appointment with Darin Murphy (dmurphy@smfa.edu or 617-369-3651). Appointments are available between 9 am and 5 pm, Monday through Friday.

Use Policies

  • The collection is in-library use only and viewing is supervised by the library staff.
  • Hands must be clean and free of lotion or other moisturizing products.
  • No food or drink is permitted when viewing artists' books.
  • Use pencil only if taking notes.

To learn more about artists' books in general, see our Book Arts research guide. 

Zines

We have hundreds of zines created by SMFA students, faculty, and alums and by local artists. 

  • To browse our zines, stop by the front desk or make an appointment with Darin Murphy (dmurphy@smfa.edu, 617-369-3651).
  • Zines must be viewed inside the Library
  • Our zine holdings cannot be searched in the FLO catalog, but we do have several books about zines including histories, how-to guides, and anthologies of landmark publications. 
  • We accept donations! If interested, get in touch.

Learn more about the world of zines on our Zines and Alternative Publishing research guide! 

If you make zines, consider applying for our Zine Production Grant. 

Rare books

The SMFA Library has a small, non-circulating collection of rare books. If you find a book in the FLO catalog with the location "School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Special Collections," it will not be in our circulating collection but you may still arrange with front desk staff to view it. Rare books may not leave the Library. 

Accessing: The collection is accessible Monday - Friday, from 9 am to 5 pm. Please note that there may be a brief waiting period between your request and the retrieval of collection items.

Use Policies

  • The collection is in-library use only and viewing is supervised by the library staff.
  • Hands must be clean and free of lotion or other moisturizing products.
  • No food or drink is permitted when viewing.
  • Use pencil only if taking notes.

Archives

The Library houses a collection of archival documents-- such as registration records, promotional brochures, and course catalogs-- produced by the SMFA between 1877 and 1957. These materials are intended to supplement serious scholarship into the history of the School and its students, faculty, and affiliates. 

Please direct any questions about our archival materials to Darin Murphy (dmurphy@smfa.edu or 617-369-3651).

Please also note that the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston has its own archival collection pertaining to Museum history and operations. For more information, call 617-369-3378.

_

Dylan Graham, Library in a Book
SMFA Library Artists' Book Collection

Nina Prader, Barbie Wants You Baby Girl
SMFA Library Zine Collection

Sophie Calle, Blind
SMFA Library Rare Books Collection

smfa