Library Website: Database List

Use Credo Reference to search hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files and nearly 100 videos.

A great place to begin art research, Oxford Art Online is a comprehensive resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory through the late twentieth century. You can access biographies, images, and entries from the Grove Art Online, The Benezit Dictionary of Artists and a range of Oxford University Press reference resources.

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.

Academic OneFile and General OneFile provide access to full-text articles on a broad range of topics including history, the humanities, art, social & physical sciences and current events.

ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides information on modern and contemporary art, including traditional media (painting, printmaking, sculpture) as well as performance art and installation works, graffiti, artists' books, and more. Search an index of resources ranging from journal articles and essays to exhibition catalogs and reviews.

Art Source provides access to almost one thousand art and architecture periodicals from 1929 through the present. Please note that full-text access is available only from 1997 on.

The BHA is an index of art history scholarship published between 1975 and 2007. These article and dissertation citations cover western art history from antiquity to the present.

The DAAI is a good resource for scholarly articles, news items and reviews on the topics of design and craft, from 1973 through the present. Sub-topics include advertising, architecture, graphic design, fashion and fiber arts.

The IBA is a continuation of the Bibliography of the History of Art. Here you will find citations from scholarly literature published since 2008.

JSTOR contains scholarly information on an interdisciplinary range of subjects, from arts and humanities to social and physical sciences. You can access full-text articles, books and high-quality images.

In addition to our print subscription, the SMFA Library has full text access through MIT Press to issues 97 (Summer 2001) through the current issue of this important contemporary art journal. Please also note that JSTOR offers full text from 1976 to 2006, and Art Full Text provides access to full text from 1998 to 2011.

Artstor is a great place to begin your image search. It provides access to 1.6 million (and growing) high-quality images contributed by over 1,500 museums, galleries, universities, and libraries worldwide. Additionally, the SMFA Library regularly uploads digitized images from our newest print books, ensuring that the collection represents a broad spectrum of contemporary art.

Please note that off-campus access to ARTstor is not granted through your library barcode. You will need to create an account on-campus using your e-mail address, after which you will have remote access for 120 days. To renew your off-campus access, simply log in from a computer on the SMFA campus.

CAMIO stands for “Catalog of Art Museum Images Online.” Here you will find images of art from museum collections worldwide, including objects from the MFA Boston, the Library of Congress, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Smithsonian American Art Museum.

SIRIS allows you to search the collections of several Smithsonian libraries, archives and research databases. Over 500,000 image, video and sound files are included.

A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included and indexed. You can find images by searching garment type, designer, and brand names.

A comprehensive archive of Women’s Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to material from within the last twelve months, reproduced in high-resolution images. Every page, article, advertisement and cover has been included, with searchable text and indexing.

Artnet offers up-to-date, comprehensive information about the art market. Use the Price Database to research fine art, design and decorative art sales from over 500 international auction houses. You can also use the Artists A-Z feature to see quality images, as well as the provenance and market value, of all works for sale by a particular artist.

The Boston Business Journal is a weekly publication covering the latest in business and financial news in Boston and surrounding communities. This site allows access to an archive of issues from the past year, as well as the Book of Lists, which provides current information on all buyers, businesses and employers in Boston.

Each issue of the Boston Globe is indexed thoroughly, so users have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained in the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers complete bibliographic information as well as companies, people, products, and more.

This resource provides information on the Chicago style of scholarly writing, including how to to create footnote/endnote citations and bibliographies. Please note that off-campus access is not available for this resource.

Pronunciator is a language-learning software that features tutorials in reading, writing, listening, and speaking. It offers courses in 80 languages with 50 languages in which to learn them, for a total of 4,000 possible course combinations. To get started, create an account on campus using any e-mail address. Pronunciator will assign you a username and password, which you can change once logged in (under the My Account tab on the upper right). You'll then have unlimited remote access.