SMFA Library: Sculpture In Site: Finding Images

Exhibition Catalogs and Artist Monographs

Print books are still one of the best places to find high-quality images with factually reliable information. When looking for art images, exhibition catalogs and artist monographs are great resources.

Image Databases

The SMFA Library provides access to Artstor and Camio, two excellent image databases. Librarians are available to help you navigate these resources.

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor is a great place to begin your image search. It provides access to 1.6 million (and growing) high-quality images contributed by over 1,500 museums, galleries, universities, and libraries worldwide. Additionally, the SMFA Library regularly uploads digitized images from our newest print books, ensuring that the collection represents a broad spectrum of contemporary art.

Please note that off-campus access to ARTstor is not granted through your library barcode. You will need to create an account on-campus using your e-mail address, after which you will have remote access for 120 days. To renew your off-campus access, simply log in from a computer on the SMFA campus.
CAMIO This link opens in a new window
CAMIO stands for “Catalog of Art Museum Images Online.” Here you will find images of art from museum collections worldwide, including objects from the MFA Boston, the Library of Congress, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Smithsonian American Art Museum.

Publically Available Online Image Resources

Artsy
Artsy features almost 200,000 high-quality contemporary art images from several major galleries, museum collections, foundations, artist estates, and art fairs. Try searching "Site Specific Art" or "Land Art."
Public Art Archive

Google Image Search

Do you know about Google Advanced Image Search? Give it a try! It's a great way to harness the power of the regular Google Image Search toward delivering quality, trustworthy results. Some tips:

In the "image size" menu, select a larger option to help ensure image quality.
In the "site or domain" field, enter .edu and/or .org. This will limit your search to sites (from museums, universities, etc.) that are more likely to include complete and accurate information with image files.
Try filtering your search by "usage rights." In most cases, using images for scholarly work (papers, presentations) is protected by Fair Use, but incorporating images into the output of your artistic practice is a thornier issue. Knowing the licensing information for images you use is a smart way to work.

Caption your images!

Any images you use in your work must be thoroughly and properly captioned. For more information, consult the Writing and Citing tab for links to the Chicago Manual of Style.

Contact us!

Please feel free to get in touch with a librarian at any stage of your research process. Stop by the library (located on the third floor of the B side of the Fenway building), or get in touch directly with:

Ashley Peterson

apeterson@smfa.edu
617-369-3653

Darin Murphy

dmurphy@smfa.edu
617-369-3651

Circulation Desk (evening and weekend contact)

library@smfa.edu
617-369-3650

Go Back...

Research Guides list

SMFA Library homepage