In most cases, you won't be entering your research questions verbatim into internet search engines, library databases, etc. Your questions serve to articulate what you want to know; the next steps are:
Don't worry too much about coming up with all of your search terms at this point-- as you delve into the background information and learn more, you will naturally begin thinking about your topic in more precise, sophisticated terms.
Also, keep in mind these terms that are related to the general topic of appropriation:
| Influence/artistic influence | Mashups |
| Borrowing | Copyright/Fair Use |
| Homage | Situationism |
| Assemblage | Postmodern art |
| Collage | Pop Art |
| Found objects |
A keyword search will give you results where your search terms appear anywhere in the record (title, author, subject, description, etc.). This is usually the best option for searching.
Select title search if you are sure of the title you are looking for
Select author to see all titles in the FLO library collections by a specific person
A subject search will show all FLO titles on a given subject. The subject headings are defined by the Library of Congress; you might try finding a term in their subject headings database before plugging it into the FLO catalog.
You might also try browsing titles under these subject headings, relevant to appropriation:
| Appropriation (Art) | Assemblage (Art) |
| Appropriation (Art)--Exhibitions | Found objects (Art) |
| Collage | Pop art |
The following databases are recommended for finding scholarly articles, exhibition reviews, and book reviews. Searching databases is a great way to find a diversity of opinions and scholarly interpretations of a given topic.
Database searches are most successful when you use precise and specific terms ("Richard Prince" for example, would yield way too many results!). Try adding terms from your background reading or from the assignment requirements ("Patrick Cariou," "court case," "fair use")
Exhibition Catalogs and Artist Monographs
Print books are still one of the best places to find high-quality images with factually reliable information. When looking for art images, exhibition catalogs and artist monographs are great resources.
Image Databases
The SMFA Library provides access to Artstor and Camio, two excellent image databases. Librarians are available to help you navigate these resources.
Other Image Collections
Our Publicly Available Online Image Collections guide will help you navigate the growing number of digitized collections from museums, universities, historical archives, and other cultural heritage institutions
Please feel free to get in touch with a librarian at absolutely any stage of your research process.
We encourage you to schedule a research consultation with Ashley Peterson (apeterson@smfa.edu, 617-369-3653) for an in-depth discussion about your research goals.
For quicker questions, please feel free to stop by the Library's front desk (located on the third floor of the B side of the Fenway building). You can also email or call the front desk at library@smfa.edu/617-369-3650.